Parliamentary research topics

The Australian Research Council project on ‘strengthening parliamentary institutions’ is beginning with a substantial research contribution from parliamentary officers, including a number of elected parliamentarians, sponsored by the Commonwealth Parliament. The initial cohort of researchers comprises the following researchers and topics.

The research project is being managed by a group of ‘lead researchers’ (including Bernard Wright from the House of Representatives, and David Sullivan from the Senate, both with topics in the following list) under the direction of convenor Dr Phil Larkin of the Political Science Program, Research School of Social Sciences, Australian National University.

In the week of 15 October 2007, the Parliamentary Studies Centre hosted the visit to Canberra of one of the Centre’s International Advisers, Dr Stanley Bach, a United States political scientist with extensive experience in parliamentary studies and the development of parliamentary institutions in emerging democracies. During his time in Canberra, Dr Bach acted as a mentor for the initial cohort of researchers, drawing in part on his 2003 book Platypus or Parliament which shared the inaugural Baker Prize for research on the Australian Senate. Dr Bach’s visit will thus provide the stimulus for the early research momentum of the project on ‘parliamentary strengthening’.

What follows is the initial list of topics as described by their own researchers. The timeline for the completion of this remarkably valuable set of research papers is still being determined, as is the list of successor topics and researchers which will supplement this foundational list over the three years of the ‘parliamentary strengthening’ project. News of the related list of externally-sourced topics being completed by Australian and international academic researchers will be posted on the Centre website soon.

Updated:  16 December 2010/Responsible Officer:  PSC Administrator /Page Contact:  CAP Web Team